[Skip to Content] | [Skip to Navigation]

GIO Stadium Canberra


Canberra Raiders

Canberra Raiders

The Canberra Raiders have been Canberra's local National Rugby League (NRL) team since their inception in 1982 and since then, have won three premierships.

After being beaten Grand Finalists in 1987, they won their first Premiership in 1989. This is still regarded as one of the greatest deciders in history. In a memorable match, they became the first team to ever win a premiership from outside the ladder's top three, with an extra time 19 - 14 win over the Balmain Tigers.

Their second premiership came in the form of an 18 - 14 win over the Penrith Panthers the following year but 1991 saw the tables turned by the Panthers. 1994 marked the Raiders third premiership win with a convincing 36 - 12 win over the Bulldogs This win capped off a memorable career for a club legend, Mal Meninga.

Throughout the years, the Raiders have consistently made it into the semi-finals, with GIO Stadium hosting a number of these; 2010 match against the Wests Tigers, Cronulla Sharks in 2012 and both the Sharks and Penrith Panthers in 2016.

Raiders' club legends include; Mal Meninga and Laurie Daley (both of whom are commemorated by bronze statues in the western forecourt of GIO Stadium, Ricky Stuart, Glenn Lazarus, Rubin Wiki and Steve Walters. Our West Grandstand is also named in honour of Mal Meninga. Not to be forgotten, the team's longest serving member and club mascot, Victor the Viking, who is a favourite amongst Raiders fans and in the season just passed had racked up 600 games.


Upcoming Games Raiders Website
Facebook share button Twitter share button Google plus share button